Forum Home» Credit Cards

Questions about Balance Transfers - Page 9

New Post Advanced Search

Questions about Balance Transfers

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Credit Cards
478 replies 103.8K views

Replies

• Can anyone tell me what the best super balance transfer offer is at the moment? It would be for someone with good credit history. Tink x
    Debt to clear: feels endless...

Weight loss to go: 42lb/13.5lb

Maybe someday i'll be skinny, organised and debt free..
    :rotfl:
  • redzhellredzhell Forumite
    338 posts
    Part of the Furniture 100 Posts
    ✭✭
    Hello all,

I'm a newbie here so please be nice! Lol - now I have a question which may sound oh so silly and I suspect I already know the answer but for peace of mind, I'd like to know for definite.

I've been looking at balance transfers and noticed that there are a lot of 0% on balance tranfers for a period of time but with 3% handling fee. Does this mean that if I tranferred over £1000, I would have to pay £30 for the priviledge?
  • redzhell wrote: »
    I've been looking at balance transfers and noticed that there are a lot of 0% on balance tranfers for a period of time but with 3% handling fee. Does this mean that if I tranferred over £1000, I would have to pay £30 for the priviledge?

Yes this is correct, but also bear in mind that some Card Providers will charge you interest on the Balance Transfer fee, so it could work out slightly more than £30.
  • I have a £500 balance on my sky card at 0% until november 08. sky have offered me a 0% interest cheque with a 2.99% fee. as i also have £2,000 on a m&s credit card does it make financial sense for me to firstly, transfer my £500 sky debt to m&s, then, secondly, use a sky cheque to pay the combined £2500, leaving me with the whole debt at 0% on sky. i realise i'll have to pay the handling fee. thanks in advace for any help.
  • Hi