index traking ISA from .comdirect

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in ISAs & Tax-free Savings
9 replies 865 views
slh012slh012 Forumite
3 Posts
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in ISAs & Tax-free Savings
hello!

im a bit new to all this investing stuff.

ive got premium bonds right now (£500) and havnt won a thing. id like to move my money into a more efficient and long term investment.

I was thinking a index tracking maxi ISA against the FTSE 100 (iPLAN) from https://www.comdirect.co.uk is this a wise choice, seems the FTSE may be entering a period of growth (is this right??)

will be investing a max of £100 / month over the period of the investment.

any help or advice greatfully recieved.

slh

Replies

• dunstonhdunstonh Forumite
    106.7K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Its hard to say whether a tracker is right at this time. It certainly hasnt been for the last 5 years. UK Equity & Income funds have been the area of choice, as far as UK goes.

Personally, i think UK Equity & Income will remain the place too due to the emphasis on dividend income and the volatility of the UK stockmarket. However, lets see in 5-10 years time which was best.

Like most things, the best option is a portfolio of funds/sectors rather than 1 fund and hope for the best. £100pm can get you upto 4 funds and that would be the better way to do it.
    I am an Independent Financial Adviser (IFA). The comments I make are just my opinion and are for discussion purposes only. They are not financial advice and you should not treat them as such. If you feel an area discussed may be relevant to you, then please seek advice from an Independent Financial Adviser local to you.
  • MJSWMJSW Forumite
    171 Posts