We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Home insurance claim following a leak

Options
Hi All,

Recently had  leak from the bathroom when the flush pipe on the toilet failed.  Just looking for some guidance on the home insurance claim now as it's my first time making any claim of this sort. 

Basicaly, the insurance sent out a loss adjuster to survey the damage and he produced quite a comprehensive report detailing the works required to put things right, however the settlement from the insurance and works required don't appear to match up...

In short they've advised I need

• 4sqm of ceiling replacing with new plasterboard, plaster and 2 coats of paint,
  • Entire re-decoration to the kitchen (currently wallpapered at 23sqm)

• Entire re-decoration to the dining room, including stain block paint for the ceiling.  (currently wallpapered at 14sqm)  

• Re-instatement of the bathroom Vanity unit, they've allowed a plumber 1 day (7hrs) for this. 
The settlement figure they've offered is £1400, which is before they take their £350 excess.  That seems quite low to me given the amount of works they've scoped.  Especially as it's to include all materials and removal of all waste.

They've advised me to get quotes from my own tradesmen which I have started, but a common theme I'm finding is none of them seem keen on 'bit work' and are only interested in full refurbshments or projects. 

Is this very much like car insurance where I should reject the first offer or does that seem reasonable?   Just for comparison, a recent quote from a plumber to replace bath and basin taps was £150.  (Took under 90mins)  and for re-decoration of a similar sized bedroom I recently paid £615 inc labour and materials.