Water Meter

Options
Agrios
Agrios Posts: 1 Newbie
I am a newbie and this is my first post. I looked through some of the threads and could not find the answer to this question. So here goes.

I have lived in this house for 16 years. A few times over this period I have enquired about water meters. Promised returned calls, told I couldn't have one etc. etc. No proof of any of this.

I got the bill again from Yorkshire Water and decided to enquire again. After a elongated conversation she told me I am on a meter. I said I wasn't, even though I have enquired numerous times.

It turns out the gentleman who had the house prior to me had a meter filled, strangely by the Inland Revenue, It is at the bottom of the drive. 

She said she would have to speak to her manager and a week later I got a reduced bill for my water on a water meter. That covers the start of this year. I assume they have been reading the meter all this time but charging me £1200 a year for no meter. My new bill comes in at £20.51 a month. I am sure this will fluctuate with the readings but she estimated the bill at £450.00.

Obviously you know what's coming. The question is am I entitled to some form of compensation. I cannot proof I have enquired about a meter. But I thought I had read somewhere they have a responsibility to give me the cheapest options. As a meter was fitted (and assuming they were reading it - I can't assume otherwise as I am told they drive up and down the road taking readings), there was absolutely no reason why I was not put on the meter.

I don't want to waste mine or their time writing as I am sure I will get the obvious rebuttal. If I have a case I will follow it through.

Thanks for your help to anyone who takes the time to reply and hope it is helpful to anyone in a similar situation.

Comments

• DingerUK
    DingerUK Posts: 66 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Check your previous bills, do they mention a water meter serial number?