Thinking of using 5G router. How to go about it?

Options
CaptainRock
CaptainRock Posts: 38 Forumite
Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
edited 5 May at 12:29PM in Broadband & internet access
I'm no expert in these matters so I need some help.

I'm currently with Plusnet for my broadband (67MB connection) but the price keeps rising each year which I'm not happy with.

Instead of using one of the big broadband companies I read in a computer magazine of someone switching to iDmobile.co.uk and using 5G.
Unlimited data, minutes and texts for £16.00 a month for 24 months, which is a very good deal.
So from what I can make out, I need to get a router but I  don't have a clue what type I should be getting.

I've also just thought about the sim card.  How will that work?  Will the sim card go in my mobile phone but how will I get 5G on the router?

The most important part I need to find out, is if I can get a good 5G signal.
I've searched but can't seem to find a website that can give me easy to see results I'm looking for.
Is there one that anyone can recommend?

Comments

• littleboo
    littleboo Posts: 1,514 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper First Anniversary
    Options
    IDMobile use the Three network, you need to check if you have a good indoor 4g or 5g coverage from them. Or find another network that does. The SIM card goes in the router. 
  • CaptainRock
    Options
    littleboo said:
    IDMobile use the Three network, you need to check if you have a good indoor 4g or 5g coverage from them. Or find another network that does. The SIM card goes in the router. 

If it goes in the router then I don't get use of the free minutes?
  • littleboo
    littleboo Posts: 1,514 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper First Anniversary
    edited 5 May at 1:46PM
    Options
    No, but do you have a mobile phone? All but the cheapest SIM only deals seem to have unlimited minutes
  • CaptainRock
    Options
    Yes, I have a mobile.
  • iniltous