Car rental ageism

Options
If I went into a shop and the management refused to serve me because I was black, gay or Jewish there would be an outcry - because that is against the law. So why am I refused service by a Rental Car company purely because of my age? I am as fit as a butchers dog and have a medical report to prove it. My eyesight is perfect. I haven't had an accident in 30 years. I've been driving for 50 years and obtained insurance and a driving licence without any problems. But because certain UK Car Rental companies have an age limit of 70 or 75, then my age of 76 prevents me hireing a car. This surely is ageism and actually bad business. We are one of the insurance categories with the lowest risk. 

Comments

• DullGreyGuy
    DullGreyGuy Posts: 10,801 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Name Dropper
    Options
    Afraid statistics dont back up your statement, once you've hit 70 the rate of claims start to rise again; never gets back to where it was when you were 17 but its effectively a U shaped curve. 

Discrimination by definition is unjust treatment not simply differentiating based on a characteristic. There is no evidence I've ever seen on race being a factor on car accidents but age certainly is and as such it's not unjust. 

It's a commercial decision, they buy insurance to cover people of a certain age range. 17 year olds will equally find it very difficult to hire anything but the most basic car.

If you deal with a smaller firm you may be able to come to arrangements especially if you are talking about a UK hire where you could add the vehicle to your own insurance as a temporary additional vehicle
  • zagfles
    zagfles Posts: 20,352 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Chutzpah Haggler
    Options
    Afraid statistics dont back up your statement, once you've hit 70 the rate of claims start to rise again; never gets back to where it was when you were 17 but its effectively a U shaped curve.