Target achieved, age 44

Options
Hi

Checked our balances in our various investments today and following some decent stock market growth we've now hit our arbitrary target of £1mil+ in savings. I am 44 and my partner is 39.

It is split:

My SIPP £767K
My LISA £36K
My S&S ISA £37K
My cash ISA £10K

Her SIPP £146K
Her LISA £23K

(When i say 'my' / 'her' its all one pot as far as sharing goes thats just who's name it is in)

First thing I would say is the wisdom gleaned from folk on here works - it really works, I/we have earned well but never mega bucks, I am a salaried middle manager and she took 5 years off looking after kids - these savings are the results of many years of dilligent saving, prudent living and good investment approach (generally monthly purchasing of passive global funds)

Now in the strange position that we don't really need to save any more but would also find it hard to pay a shed load of unnecessary tax 

Would appreciate peoples thoughts on what to do differently now that the target has been achieved..... e.g.

- Is it worth the tax hit to have more money outside of the pension wrappers?

- Is it worthwhile de-risking portions of our investments; they are pretty much 100% global passive equities, as we don't need mega growth might it be sensible to put £500K of it somewhere 'safer'?

Should we look at some further form of diverse investment, e.g. a holiday property or BTL or something else?

We have 4 kids, ages 5-17 so they are going to cost us a bit but we are managing well at the moment with our current level of investing. They have various JISA's and SIPP's already (that we pay into regularly)

Our house is worth maybe 500K with 190K still on the mortgage - i have thought about actively paying that down but that would come at a cost of tax efficiency, vs saving into the pension so would be hard to do 

Basically I feel that due to the tax incentives it really is still worth maxing the pension 

I earn 100K +annual bonus of around 10-20K