ISA limits & number of accounts - help please!

Options
TheGreenMan
TheGreenMan Posts: 24 Forumite
First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
edited 26 March at 2:38PM in ISAs & tax-free savings
Hi everyone,
I've been trying to understand the ISA rules (I'm new to these) but I'm even more confused now!

Please can someone help me by answering these questions?
1) I have opened a Cash ISA this month and put all my savings into it. Its under the £20K limit. I think that is the only type of ISA I can open this financial year and put money into....am I right?

2) I would like to open a Stocks & Shares ISA also, I think I have to wait until April to do this - is this correct?

3) In April, when I have 2 ISA's (above) I think I am only allowed to move savings on a monthly basis into just 1 of the above ISA's, up to that ISA's £20K limit, is that right?

4) My girlfriend has her own ISA for her savings. We are civil partners - can we open an ISA together and move our joint savings into it on top of her personal ISA and my personal ISA(s)?

Please help! I know the info is all out there but it's not clear to me when I read it on other threads or in article form, it just confuses me more, I find this stuff very confusing! 

Thanks in advance!
P

Comments

• eskbanker
    eskbanker Posts: 31,076 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    edited 26 March at 12:47PM
    Options
    1) I have opened a Cash ISA this month and put all my savings into it. Its under the £20K limit. I think that is the only type of ISA I can open this financial year and put money into....am I right?
    No, you can fund a different type of ISA alongside the cash one

2) I would like to open a Stocks & Shares ISA also, I think I have to wait until April to do this - is this correct?
    As above, no, not correct