Kitchen refit on a budget

Options
finnunderwood
finnunderwood Posts: 9 Forumite
First Post
Hello,

I am a first time buyer and am currently refurbishing my property.
I was initially not going to replace the kitchen as the units although dated, seemed ok.  However, as I started to use them, I realised they were more broken, damaged and potentially damp that I first thought.  
This has left me with the situation that I need to replace a kitchen but on a fairly tight budget.  I can fit the basics of the kitchen myself and have wired in for all of the appliances (I am an apprentice electrician) but would need to get someone in to fit the plumbing and the worktops.

I am interested in people's experience of buying kitchens online, potentially flat pack or delivered as pre made cabinets.

Has anyone bought from Ebay or Facebook whereby they have taken a second hand kitchen and refitted?

What options have worked best?

Are there any pitfalls to avoid?

Any advice would be very appreciated.

Comments

• iwebster
    iwebster Posts: 5 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Give diy-kitchens.com a look. All prebuilt and ready to fit. I'm halfway through fitting a new kitchen and have been really happy with the price and quality!
  • ThisIsWeird
    ThisIsWeird Posts: 4,859 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    Absolutely check Facebook. It may take some time, but it's astonishing what kitchens folk are happy to rip out and let go for next to now't.
    You are an apprentice sparky? Cool. But you reckon you'd need a plumber?! What's wrong with you, man! Them wires are pipes, and that leccy is water. Just make proper connections, and no-one will be 'cuted/drowned. 
    Yes, the worktops - if they need a corner join - is best left to the pros...
  • prettyandfluffy
    prettyandfluffy Posts: 729 Forumite
    edited 25 March at 7:15PM
    Options