Divorce Advice

Options
Hi everyone, Newbie here.

So it looks like my wife and I are going to seperate (and eventually divorce). Nothing final has happened yet but despite my best efforts it looks lik things are petering out.

Anyways to cut a long story short, i am giving myself a deadline of just after xmas, new year. If things havent improved drastically then i will leave.

Soooooo, my question is how can i prepare myself financially for an impending divorce? Is it as simple as putting a little bit away every month?

For clarity, we have one child and i would not be looking to screw my wife over. i still love her but i can see the way things are going. I want to ensure they are both looked after, but i will also need to look after myself.

Comments

• caprikid1
    caprikid1 Posts: 2,135 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    "Soooooo, my question is how can i prepare myself financially for an impending divorce? Is it as simple as putting a little bit away every month?"

You cannot effectively put a bit away each month as ultimately it will always be both your money. But if you have no savings then you will need money for a deposit etc on somewhere to live. Have you worked out the finances ? Do you both work ? Own your house.

• Random_Idiot69
    Options
    caprikid1 said:
    "Soooooo, my question is how can i prepare myself financially for an impending divorce? Is it as simple as putting a little bit away every month?"

You cannot effectively put a bit away each month as ultimately it will always be both your money. But if you have no savings then you will need money for a deposit etc on somewhere to live. Have you worked out the finances ? Do you both work ? Own your house.

That makes a lot of sense, i hadnt thought of it like that. I think its because in my spare time i buy and sell odds & ends for a profit. Thats what i was planning on saving, but i guess thats still half hers?