Damage charges to rental vehicle

Options
martyn0284
martyn0284 Posts: 18 Forumite
First Post First Anniversary

Hey all

I've been renting a van from a rental company for the last 5 years (same van for the last 4 years), and they are renewing their fleet in the next couple of weeks. I also have another van through them but am probably handing that back.

They are now upping the deposit 400% to £2000 as well as upping the rental price by £200 4 weekly, and taking things like worn tyres and brakes out of the price and making us pay for them from now on. Anyway, there's damage to one van to the bottom sill along one side and I am been quoted £1200 for damage costs which is fair enough I guess. But he has also requested pictures of the drivers seat, of which we have supplied to show no damage, but now they are saying depending on the condition of the foam, depends whether we will get charged for that also?

Are they been reasonable over the seat as they don't seem to be taking wear and tear into consideration, even there is no damage atall as it has had a seat cover on for the entire time. Also, would I be unreasonable to say that I will pay the sill damage charges upon receipt of the work been carried out as opposed to upfront? I think they will just be sending them to auction anyway and suspect the damage won't even be fixed.

Bear in mind, that whilst I will probably hand one back, I will be taking on one of the new vans so it's not as if I will just be walking away. I have never missed any payments, made a nuisance of myself with them or anything bad over the last 5 years and they know I'm an honest person (not that any of that matters, but thought I'd add it anyway)

Thanks in advance

Comments

• Jenni_D
    Jenni_D Posts: 5,109 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    Options
    Is the hire company a BVRLA member? They have fair wear and tear guidelines that their members must abide by.
    Jenni x
  • WellKnownSid