🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Submit your suggestions via this form or post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

New ISA rules April 2024

Options
15678911»

Comments

• eskbanker
    eskbanker Posts: 31,604 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    edited 16 April at 6:59PM
    Options
    shine600 said:
    as a newbie I'm not allowed to post a link to the key article on moneyweek
    It's https://moneyweek.com/personal-finance/savings/isas/multiple-isa-rule-how-it-works but it was published a week ago, i.e. on the second working day of the new regime, and wasn't particularly comprehensive even then, so doesn't have the authority or credibility you appear to consider it to.

Anyway, as discussed on this board, the situation is changing all the time as providers get up to speed, not least because of the delay in HMRC issuing their guidance documentation, clarifying interpretation of the legislation, so there are plenty of other providers who don't object to those funding ISAs elsewhere, and they have no means of finding that out anyway....

shine600 said:
    As for banks non-compliance with the recent rule change rules, I wonder if this could end up as a mis-selling fiasco with the banks in court in court in years to come. 
    No chance!
  • masonic
    masonic Posts: 23,535 Forumite
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    Mis-selling is the practice of selling things to people who probably should not be sold them. Whereas what is happening here in the main is that potential sales are being discouraged for spurious reasons.
  • subjecttocontract
    subjecttocontract Posts: 1,946 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper First Anniversary Combo Breaker