£30,000 credit card debt - living abroad - DRO

Options
Good evening chaps,

Background:

MBNA Credit Card - £15,000 (minimum payment each month £450)

Tesco Credit Card - £6000 (min pm £250)

Halifax Clarity - £7000 (min pm £250)

Two years ago I had to move to Czech Republic as my wife was pregnant and she couldn’t get visa to UK.

So far I have been making minimum payments totalling at £1000 a month but soon will run out of money.

I wanted to ask how would DRO or Bankruptcy look like when applying for it from outside of UK.

I meet the residency criteria as it hasn’t been three years since I was a UK resident. However, I’m not how would I provide proof of current employment and spendings/outgoings considering that I now live in Czech Republic and take home £1400 from my ft job.

Would official receiver want my Czech bank accounts and payslips, they would need translating etc. Or could I just go to UK for some time and not work, say that I’m unemployed etc.

I’m considering DRO or bankruptcy. I do not ever intend to go back to live in the UK. However, my parents live and own the property which is registered on my credit cards. Hence I cannot just forget this debt as I cannot stand a thought of bailiffs harassing them and my parents having to prove that they own items in their own home.

For now I will apply for token payments since I cannot make minimum payments anymore (have been doing so for past two years). However, I need w final solution to resolve this nightmare.

Comments

• fatbelly
    fatbelly Posts: 20,507 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Cashback Cashier
    edited 12 March at 9:39PM
    Options
    You could possibly do a DRO through Money Wellness.

However, what do you think will happen if you stop paying? These will just wither on the vine. Statute barred after 6 years.

Are you planning to return to the UK?
  • pedrosa666
    pedrosa666 Posts: 10 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    fatbelly said: