WE LIVE IN LITTLE BRITAIN - WHAT TO DO WHEN THE COMPUTER SAYS NO!?

I was excited to read Martins's recent newsletter and see the top interest rate via MBNA at 5.27%. - a trusted banking brand. I look after my Dads savings, with PoA, he is 94, poor eyesight and not got internet access, never had, and never wanted! I applied to MBNA for an account, on his behalf and shocked to find his application was rejected. The same happened another of the accounts on Martin's hot list. 
Why is a person who lives in a care home not allowed to enjoy a market-leading savings rate? 
I am in my late 50's and looking after elderly parents find this trend where those who don't have internet access or don't want it are unable to access products, services or pushed into in with no alternative. No option for telephone support. It's very sad and annoying......and I work in IT!! 
Anyone out there can offer me some advice on this, such as why someone with less than 24 months residence would be failed? Tks #computersaysno

Comments

• p00hsticks
    p00hsticks Posts: 12,751 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary

Why is a person who lives in a care home not allowed to enjoy a market-leading savings rate? 
    Having an elderly non-IT literate parent myself, I have a certain amount of sympathy for your situation, but I'm struggling to work out from your post exactly why the application was rejected. Is it because he has no internet access, because he lives in a care home or because he has moved in the last 24 months ? 

As you say you work in IT yourself, you'll be well aware that, once the initial systems have been developed,   managing accounts online is considerably cheaper than providing customer support via phone or physical branches, so it makes business sense that savings institutions can offer better rates to those accounts that can be managed purely online. 
  • dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,231 Forumite