SIPP advice

Options
Newbie here, who has no real knowledge of investing and low risk tolerance
I have virtually no income other than my savings
Heard a bit about SIPPs and have been told I should put money in a SIPP to get tax relief back - but I don't pay tax except potentially a little on my savings, so not sure I understand how I can get tax relief
I right in thinking I can contribute a maximum of £2880 pa, and get £720 tax relief?

I do have a pension pot with Standard Life, which I am not adding to, nor drawing from
I'm very wary of investing as its outside my knowledge and I have low risk tolerance
Is there a way of putting money into a cash SIPP
It feels like if I can get effectively 25% tax relief, that's a good return without any profits from investing or interest from saving

Any guidance on SIPPs would be very welcome

Comments

• threlkeld53
    threlkeld53 Posts: 77 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    Yes, you're correct about the '£2880'. Many people on here do the same. If you have no income, it's a good way of earning a free £720 for a bit of online work.

For example, you pay into a SIPP £2880 on say 1st-4th May. Keep it there in cash. On 21st June HMRC will add 25% tax relief of £720, turning it into £3600. On the same day, you crystalize this amount and request the £900 tax free element (25% of £3600). You also request the balance of £2700 which will be paid to you 28th July. 

So basically you laid out £2880 and received £3600 back. All done in a 12 week turnaround.
  • proudgecko
    proudgecko Posts: 16 Forumite
    First Post
    Options
    this year I am going to be just about on the edge of paying tax on my savings (good place to be in)
    but am I right in thinking I can pay the 2880 each year, getting the gov money, request £900 tax free each year, and leave the balance in the IPP ( to avoid tax), then when my interest from savings is lower, I can request more of the balance