Help with higher rate tax relief on my workplace DC pension contributions.

Options
Hi,

I'm confused by my company pension, and need some help from someone please... 

There are three parts to my monthly company DC pension plan contributions.
  • My company contributes a fixed %, that I can't affect, that comes out pre-tax and doesn't appear on my payslip at all, it just appears in my pension.  Thank you company!
  • The second bit is a fixed % that I also can't alter, that is a fixed employee contribution.  This shows up on my payslip.
  • The third bit is the optional AVC, that I have been making for a few years and want to increase, which appears on my payslip too.
Question 1
I'm sure I can reclaim my tax on the AVC component, but I'm not sure about the second part, and my payslip doesn't give me much clue... 

Question 2
I don't currently do a tax return, because my only income is via PAYE.  Do I need to start doing one to reclaim this tax, or can I just write to them?  I've read conflicting information about this, even on HMRC's own website!

I've read a lot online about all of this, but my pension setup seems a bit unusual.  There's no concept of "matching" either.

Thanks very much.

Comments

• Albermarle
    Albermarle Posts: 22,179 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    You need to clarify whether the main pension is a Defined Benefits Pension, or a Defined Contributions pension, as a first step. 
    Pension basics | Help with pension basics | MoneyHelper
  • lightbody
    lightbody Posts: 7 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    You need to clarify whether the main pension is a Defined Benefits Pension, or a Defined Contributions pension, as a first step. 
    Hi - I put that in the topic heading - its a DC.  Thanks!
  • dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,387 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    lightbody said: