Transferring money from a balance transfer to a current account

Options
I'm a veteran stoozer who stopped about 15 years go once balance transfer fees were introduced and the financial crash hit. Recently however, I have noticed that Natwest are offering 0% BTs with zero fees and am considering getting back in. The only thing I'm a bit unsure about is the mechanics of getting your hands on the balance transfer. Is it still a case you can ask for the BT and the new card will transfer the money straight to your current account or do you need an intermediary card for this to happen?

Comments

• GrumpyDil
    GrumpyDil Posts: 1,621 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    Options
    If it is a balance transfer offer you still need to get the money onto a card offering money transfers.
  • thor
    thor Posts: 5,483 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    GrumpyDil said:
    If it is a balance transfer offer you still need to get the money onto a card offering money transfers.

OK so I'll need a money transfer card then. That's not something that was required years ago.
  • fatbelly
    fatbelly Posts: 20,510 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Cashback Cashier
    Options
  • Fingerbobs
    Fingerbobs Posts: 1,641 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    edited 26 January at 3:34PM
    Options
    thor said:
    GrumpyDil said:

OK so I'll need a money transfer card then. That's not something that was required years ago.
    How did it work before then? I've also been Stoozing (on and off) for many years, before there was even such a thing as a "Money Transfer."