IMPORTANT: Please make sure your posts do not contain any personally identifiable information (both your own and that of others). When uploading images, please take care that you have redacted all personal information including QR codes, number plates and reference numbers.

POPLA appeal - Evidence from APCOA

LordLee
LordLee Posts: 105
First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
Forumite
Hi all.  Need a bit of advice, i've read the FAQ as i'm a relatively newbie to this area of the forum, but can't find any direct advice.

I've appealed a private ticket from APCOA via POPLA and now received their evidence.  My main concern was the notice was not signed which, to my mind without even entering into the rest of the legal stuff, wouldn't bind a contract to begin with, but maybe i'm being naive. 

I appealed on the lack of signature plus the following - 

Mr XXXX further appeals to POPLA advising that the Charge is not a Genuine Pre-Estimate of Loss. 

Mr XXXX advises that the charge is disproportionate and not commercially justifiable. 

Mr XXXX advises that the amount APCOA have charged is not based upon any commercially justifiable loss to the company or the landowner. Mr Hollands advises that the signage was not seen before parking, so there was no valid contract formed he does not believe the Notice to Keeper is not properly given and does not establish keeper liability under the Protection of Freedoms Act 2012. 

Mr XXXX advises that the parking charge notice was not signed where indicated and therefore is not valid, it could have been issued by anyone. 

Mr XXXX further advises that it was night, and the sign was not properly illuminated for people to read correctly.

I attached a photograph of the unsigned Penalty Notice with my appeal.

APCOA state that as seen in the section of the BPA code of practice. As shown a signature is not required as the parking attendant reference number is displayed on the Penalty Notice.