DIVERSIFICATION...?

Options
Hi All,

Still very new to the forum and the world of investing...outside of a basic cash isa that!

So I've gone a little investment crazy the last fortnight and I've opened:

SIPP - I own my own business so this seemed logical given I'm not paying much at all into my own workplace pension
LISA - gutted I only just found out about these (I'm 37)!
S&S ISA - I have a high risk appetite, can afford the potential ups and down, and I don't see myself need the money in the short term
JISA - for my 2yr old, will open 2nd JISA for baby due in March.

So my question is...is investing in the same single global index fund, being diversified? Like I said I'm very new to investing so please forgive my naivety but surely a Global fund in its self covers everything, so it's as diverse as can be?

Thanks in advance and I look forward to hearing your opinions :smile:

Comments

• dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,625 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    SIPP - I own my own business so this seemed logical given I'm not paying much at all into my own workplace pension
    Company owners don't have to auto-enrol in the workplace pension.

LISA - gutted I only just found out about these (I'm 37)!
    Pension would still beat LISA for a company owner who is in the higher rate band.   However, LISA is good if you are maximising pension allowances.

S&S ISA - I have a high risk appetite, can afford the potential ups and down, and I don't see myself need the money in the short term
    Whilst high in the pecking order for employees or self employed, it is not that high up the pecking order for shareholding directors/owners unless the money is needed before age 58.

So my question is...is investing in the same single global index fund, being diversified?
    yes.