Claiming benefits - going self employed

Hi All,

My current job officially finishes on 4 Jan but due to holidays accrued I finish on 21 Dec. I work as an accountant currently. I haven't claimed benefits/signed on in years but I am considering doing so soon

Got a few questions about obtaining benefits

1) Is the date I should first contact the Jobcentre 5 Jan due to my circumstances?
2) Is there a limit where you will receive no government benefits? Last time I signed on I think if you had over 16k in the bank then you would receive nothing. What if the assets are locked so you cannot touch them. Do you still have to declare these?
3) I am considering setting up my own practice. This includes costly licences and fees. Also going without any income for months. Can I get any funding for these? Is this something the JC would even consider helping me with?

Thanks
Phil

Comments

• marcia_
    marcia_ Posts: 1,500
    First Anniversary First Post Photogenic Name Dropper
    Forumite
    Hi All,

My current job officially finishes on 4 Jan but due to holidays accrued I finish on 21 Dec. I work as an accountant currently. I haven't claimed benefits/signed on in years but I am considering doing so soon

Got a few questions about obtaining benefits

1) Is the date I should first contact the Jobcentre 5 Jan due to my circumstances?
    2) Is there a limit where you will receive no government benefits? Last time I signed on I think if you had over 16k in the bank then you would receive nothing. What if the assets are locked so you cannot touch them. Do you still have to declare these?
    3) I am considering setting up my own practice. This includes costly licences and fees. Also going without any income for months. Can I get any funding for these? Is this something the JC would even consider helping me with?

Thanks
    Phil
     Yes all assets money and property need to be declared even if locked in 
  • Spoonie_Turtle
    Spoonie_Turtle Posts: 8,163