Faulty product nightmare Desperately need help

Hi all Im after some advice. im not good at this type of thing.
Im really sorry but this is slightly long.

I brought a lighting transformer from a company online who I have used before with no issues. The transformer arrived and when fitted didnt work. I contacted the seller straight away and told them it was faulty and could they send a replacement and a return label for the faulty one. I was told its not faulty, it was tested before being sent and they do not issue replacements foc. I would also have to pay to send the item back via recorded delivery for testing before a replacement was sent. They suggested a few things to make sure it was faulty but the instructions were quite vague so I called their number which is a 0871 number, unbeknown to me at the time it charged me £3.15 as its a premium number. I did the tests as instructed at an extra cost to me.
Despite the tests, Its still faulty. I contacted the company again explaining this and asked again for a replacement which i think is a reasonable request. I also said again i would like to return the faulty one,
I also questioned the phone number and charges and they said its not a premium rate number its a standard call charge and if id been charged that much i would have been on the phone for half an hour and that they had no calls for that duration, you must have called someone else. 
I can say It was definitely them as they explaind how to test the item. 

I said either a refund or a working replacement would be acceptable and if they were willing to do so I would accept either solution. I also said its their resposibility for the cost of return as its a faulty item. I checked the consumer rights 2015 before putting that in the email.

All i got in reply was "please see below in red" with my quoted email along with aggressive red bold lettering entered in between the sentences answering questions. They also accused me of threatening them in the email.