DRO Approved - Now I get a job offer!

Options
I've recently had a DRO approved (as self-employed) and I'll be discharged in just under a year. This is quite the relief as the debt hanging over me was making me miserable. 

Another thing that has been making me miserable is that I graduated in 2019 and as yet haven't found a job related to my degree... until now.  An old friend has been able to put in a good word for me. Obviously this is the opportunity I've been dreaming of since before I went to uni, however I understand any improvement to my income could see my DRO revoked. 

Do people know of many stories of DROs actually being revoked?  If HMRC see me going employed on the books anywhere does that immediately flag up with the insolvency service? 

It seems like I should be rejecting this work to ensure the DRO gets discharged fine, but it's incredibly frustrating, as for every year that passes my degree gets older and my lack of relevant experience looks worse.  I feel like I'm in a very frustrating bind now!

Comments

• sourcrates
    sourcrates Posts: 28,894 Ambassador
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    edited 16 October 2023 at 2:04PM
    Options
    Any change to your circumstances must be self declared, you are not checked up on, and nothing is flagged.

If your disposable income rises above the £75 allowance, you should report it, but your DRO will be revoked, also there are serious consequences for not informing the IS of a change that will affect you qualifying for a DRO.

This is from the .Gov website -

"If you fail to inform the official receiver of a change in circumstances during the Debt Relief Order (DRO) period, you will be committing an offence. This could lead to the DRO being taken away from you and would mean you would have to deal with your debt situation in a different way. Additionally, you could be charged with a criminal offence, which could lead to a fine or even imprisonment "