converting video clip to audio only

Brie
Brie Posts: 9,251
Photogenic First Post Name Dropper First Anniversary
Forumite
Hey there

I've got a short video clip on my phone of a bit of piano music being played.  Purpose was to try to track down the name of the piece of music as the player can only remember a bit and wants to relearn the entire piece.

I've FB friends that would recognise the piece in an instant but I can't load the clip on to FB as it's somehow too big. 

I wonder if it would be possible to strip out the audio and save that separately to reduce the file size.
"Never retract, never explain, never apologise; get things done and let them howl.”

Comments

• SiliconChip
    SiliconChip Posts: 1,266
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Forumite
    I have no personal knowledge of any of them but there seem to be a variety of options that you might want to try.

• PHK
    PHK Posts: 1,137
    Forumite
    What format is it?

It would have been much easier to use Google assistant which can recognise music even if hummed.
  • DullGreyGuy
    DullGreyGuy Posts: 9,029
    Forumite
    Can't use something like Shazam to see what it is?

There are tons of phone apps that will do it for you depending what operating system your phone is on. Just look for a free one. It's not a difficult job for an app to do so not sure it needs a particular recommendation unless there is an odd requirement you've got that you've not mentioned. Similarly you can use another app to compress the video if you want to post it instead, I use Handbrake for that (video compression is a bit more difficult) but its a windows/Mac app rather than phone. 
  • Brie
    Brie Posts: 9,251
    Photogenic First Post Name Dropper First Anniversary
    Forumite
    Hey there