Just received a £400 water bill!

Options
dllive
dllive Posts: 1,225 Forumite
First Post Name Dropper First Anniversary I've been Money Tipped!
Hi,

Ive been paying about £10 per quarter for the past 2 years. Then yesterday I get a bill for £400! Theyve taken this payment from me with Direct Debit, which has made me overdrawn!!

Im on the phone with them, but currently 20th in the queue(!!)

I thought that a company had to give notice if they were going to change the amount of a DD? 

Either the amount is a mistake (which I hope it is!), or if its because theyve been undercharging me for 2 years, have I got a case to make to Ofwat? Do you think they can spread the payment out over 12 months?

Thanks

Comments

• booneruk
    booneruk Posts: 302 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    edited 2 October 2023 at 1:12PM
    Options
    Something must have gone wrong if you only paid £40 for water per annum! Even if you were on a meter I'm not sure a water bill would ever be so low. My bill for this year (Thames Water, not metered) is £370.

• la531983
    la531983 Posts: 1,863 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    What were these £10 per quarter bills actually saying for the previous 7 quarters? Even with estimated readings it wouldnt be as low as that.
  • dllive
    Options
    Heres an example of a previous bill. (Im a single person living in a 1 bed flat, so not a high user)

• dllive
    Options
    This is the latest bill(!)

• Flugelhorn
    Flugelhorn Posts: 5,595 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    that is still over £100 a year (£2.12 a week without the water company payment)
  • la531983
    la531983 Posts: 1,863 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper
    edited 2 October 2023 at 1:27PM
    Options
    What is the "Government Contribution"?  And how can I get this?

As for those bills its not showing us everything. What readings are they using? Have they been estimated for years?
  • booneruk