Gas smart meter not sending readings

I'm not sure if this has ben posted previously as I couldn't find a thread.

I had smart meters installed 3 years ago and I was advised they were smets2 meters. Since installation the electricity meter has performed correctly sending readings and has been no trouble. The gas meter is a different matter. Since installation I think it has only sent possibly 1 or 2 readings to the energy company and no one seems to be able to tell me what the problem is or to resolve it.
The meters were installed when I was with Ovo and I am now with British Gas. I have been told various reasons from its a network issue which if this is the case they seem unable to resolve or it needs commisioning which is incorrect as it has been commisioned.

I still have to send monthly gas readings, I'd hoped having the smart meter installed would negate this and I am unable to check my usage as it doesn't display on my monitor.

Has anyone else had a similar issue and either had a definite answer or better still had it resolved?

Comments

  • I'm not sure if this has ben posted previously as I couldn't find a thread.

    I had smart meters installed 3 years ago and I was advised they were smets2 meters. Since installation the electricity meter has performed correctly sending readings and has been no trouble. The gas meter is a different matter. Since installation I think it has only sent possibly 1 or 2 readings to the energy company and no one seems to be able to tell me what the problem is or to resolve it.
    The meters were installed when I was with Ovo and I am now with British Gas. I have been told various reasons from its a network issue which if this is the case they seem unable to resolve or it needs commisioning which is incorrect as it has been commisioned.

    I still have to send monthly gas readings, I'd hoped having the smart meter installed would negate this and I am unable to check my usage as it doesn't display on my monitor.

    Has anyone else had a similar issue and either had a definite answer or better still had it resolved?
    Some basics. The gas meter connects to a gas proxy meter (a mirror) located within the communications hub. The gas meter and communications hub connect to each other via a Zigbee wifi network established by the communications hub ( known as the Home Area Network). The most likely reason for missing data on the IHD and in your account is the distance between the gas meter and the communications hub or interference. I assume that the LEDs on the communications hub are flashing normally?  You can check what you are seeing here:

    https://www.smartme.co.uk/

    If the issue is distance related, then the supplier can fit a dual band communications hub and a dual band gas meter. That said, the problem that you have is that suppliers do not get fined for failing to fix smart meter issues but they do get fined for failing to meet smart meter rollout targets. 
  • I've got the same issue. My gas meter isn't sending readings to Sainsbury Energy (Eon). My meters are old OVO (Smet1 though). I've discussed this with Sainsbury's a couple of times and while they said they would look into upgrading the meters, have decided they won't. When the meter doesn't send a reading I don't get charged for gas, and the fix is me giving them a reading each month. The meter is on the outer wall of an extension, so if it's trying to use my WiFi to send a reading I'm not surprised it has difficulty because of the amount of brickwork behind it.
    If you can I'd just give your own reading. Not ideal, but I doubt there will be a rush to replace old smart meters if they can get the customer to do the job for free for them.
  • Marvel1
    Marvel1 Posts: 7,136
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Forumite
    edited 25 September 2023 at 4:37PM
    Forty45 said:
    I've got the same issue. My gas meter isn't sending readings to Sainsbury Energy (Eon). My meters are old OVO (Smet1 though). I've discussed this with Sainsbury's a couple of times and while they said they would look into upgrading the meters, have decided they won't. When the meter doesn't send a reading I don't get charged for gas, and the fix is me giving them a reading each month. The meter is on the outer wall of an extension, so if it's trying to use my WiFi to send a reading I'm not surprised it has difficulty because of the amount of brickwork behind it.
    If you can I'd just give your own reading. Not ideal, but I doubt there will be a rush to replace old smart meters if they can get the customer to do the job for free for them.
    And met their target to install one.
  • KxMx
    KxMx Posts: 10,546
    First Post Name Dropper First Anniversary Photogenic
    Forumite
    I have a faulty gas smart meter and Octopus gave me a 6 week estimate for an engineer appointment. 
    I've now been waiting 12 weeks with nothing booked. 
    I'm on the Priority Services Register which is supposed to help in situations like these, but doesn't. 
  • [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 0
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Newbie
    edited 26 September 2023 at 11:38AM
    KxMx said:
    I have a faulty gas smart meter and Octopus gave me a 6 week estimate for an engineer appointment. 
    I've now been waiting 12 weeks with nothing booked. 
    I'm on the Priority Services Register which is supposed to help in situations like these, but doesn't. 
    It is not really a priority if your gas supply has not been disconnected.

    Have a read of this link to see if you are entitled to a Guaranteed Service Payment:

    https://octopus.energy/policies/guaranteed-standards-performance/
  • KxMx
    KxMx Posts: 10,546
    First Post Name Dropper First Anniversary Photogenic
    Forumite
    edited 26 September 2023 at 3:56PM
    I fully appreciate it isn't any kind of emergency but I am on the PSR for a reason.

    To expect extra support and a small amount of priority when things go wrong isn't unreasonable, that just isn't happening. 

    When I chased after the original 6 week timescale I received an apology, but was given no further estimate and I've not been contacted yet to book anything (13 weeks waiting tomorrow). 

    I'm making formal complaint soon see if that moves things along. 

    Had a similar negative experience with the PSR when I was with British Gas, the system looks great on paper in practice I've so far found it useless. 
  • mac.d
    mac.d Posts: 1,341
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Forumite
    I know a household who got new smart meters fitted when there was a problem with the gas meter (it was a new smart meter install but stopped working completely within the first day), and they then fitted a dual band comms hub and gas meter, which took them 6 months to do. Now the gas meter to work perfectly, but they no longer get any data from the electric meter. I don't really understand why the electric meter worked previously and now doesn't, but it's never been chased up and they are just submitting monthly readings for the electric.
  • GaryBet
    GaryBet Posts: 1
    First Post First Anniversary
    Newbie
    My smart 1 gas does not send most of the time but the electricity smart 1 is fine.  I have to send monthly gas readings on line so not very smart!!   They have no obligation to upgrade at this stage as they have no target to do so till 2033 as I understand.
Meet your Ambassadors

Categories

  • All Categories
  • 341.7K Banking & Borrowing
  • 249.7K Reduce Debt & Boost Income
  • 449K Spending & Discounts
  • 233.6K Work, Benefits & Business
  • 605.7K Mortgages, Homes & Bills
  • 172.4K Life & Family
  • 246.5K Travel & Transport
  • 1.5M Hobbies & Leisure
  • 15.8K Discuss & Feedback
  • 15.1K Coronavirus Support Boards