How do I combine several pension pots? Total beginner here

Options
Hello,
I'm 32 and began working aged 18. I've had many jobs and have always opted in to a workplace pension scheme. The trouble is, i've never kept track of them, and have no idea who some of the pensions are with (I can remember Scottish Widows for some of them, and NEST I think for some others, I also worked for the NHS for 3 years so I have one with them). The question is, how do I find them all (I should be able to dig paperwork out from my parents house) and how do I combine them all? 
Many thanks

Comments

• YBR
    YBR Posts: 553 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Mortgage-free Glee! Name Dropper
    Options
    Do you have a record of all your previous employers and dates to start with? This will give you a place to start firstly as a checklist of how many you need to trace, and secondly by asking the ex-employers for details of the pension scheme/provider on those dates. Any where you can't get information from the former employer, try the Pension Tracing Service.

Once you have reconnected with all the pensions and have access to the details again, then you can decide whether combining them is feasible, and good thing or not. It may not be feasible to transfer funds from any final salary schemes.

• Lyd00
    Lyd00 Posts: 93 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    Ok thank you, I'll start a list and try and remember them all, check all the paperwork I can find, and go from there. I doubt there'll be much in any of them.
  • xylophone
    xylophone Posts: 44,428 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
     I also worked for the NHS for 3 years so I have one with them).