Can I trust ReAssure with old Barclays Life pension?

Options
I am now 55 and have an old Barclays Life pension worth approx £30,000 that is now owned and managed by ReAssure. This is not my primary retirement income as I work in education and have a teacher's local authority pension. However, I would like to be able to access a tax free lump sum in the case of an emergency, especially as I am a tenant. Therefore, I was planning to set up a ReAssure Retirement Account and have a telephone call with PensionWise booked for later this month after which I will proceed.

However, the reviews of ReAssure on Trustpilot make pretty grim reading and I understand they are the most complained about company in this field. They do seem to have significantly improved the online portal for former Barclays Life pension in recent months (it was almost non-existent nine months ago) so perhaps things have improved? I would appreciate hearing from others in the same situation as myself, many thanks!

Comments

• MorningcoffeeIV
    MorningcoffeeIV Posts: 1,946 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options

However, the reviews of ReAssure on Trustpilot make pretty grim reading and I understand they are the most complained about company in this field.
    They have a 79% 4 and 5 star rating - so unusually high. However, Trustpilot is not somewhere you go to get an accurate idea of a company's performance.

What are your specific concerns?
  • Truro_Paul
    Truro_Paul Posts: 10 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options

However, the reviews of ReAssure on Trustpilot make pretty grim reading and I understand they are the most complained about company in this field.
    They have a 79% 4 and 5 star rating - so unusually high. However, Trustpilot is not somewhere you go to get an accurate idea of a company's performance.