How did you get into this debt?

Comments

• ms_london
    ms_london Posts: 2,852 Forumite
    First Post Photogenic Name Dropper First Anniversary
    Mine started on catalogues when i hit 18, then a small loan, then credit cards, then a bigger loan, store cards & an even bigger loan & going overdrawn on my overdraft with both banks. Eeeeeek!! What i bought, umm, a holiday to Cyprus in 2001, a £400 shopping spree in 2 hours (when i was out of work aswell), going out 3/4 times a week (although im not a big drinker i was just getting taxis everywhere, buying huge rounds etc) - the only thing i have to show for it is a denim jacket from warehouse, seriously!! Oooops!!

What an idiot I was :0) Still, repaying the debt has made me who i am today & im much happier than when i was spending the money....seriously :0)

Ms_London
  • Mango
    Mango Posts: 167 Forumite
    Mine started when I did my masters - I was very careful during my first degree but I completely overpent while I was doing my MA. The majority went on rent, buying books and other course materials but I wasted loads on ready meals, eating out etc. After I finished I moved to London and deposit for flat, just general stuff like buying work clothes, cooking utensils etc all went on a credit card. Then I got into the London lifestyle - out every night after work, shopping all the time, eating out...I got to the point where my minimum repayments were scaring me so I stupidly took out a loan to pay off my cc and overdraft - but as I was so rubbish at budgeting then the cc & overdraft built up again - aaargh!! It's all getting sorted now though, thanks to MSE and you folks on here :T
  • Kimberley
    Kimberley Posts: 14,871 Forumite