We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

CCJ help

Options
Can someone please clarify something for me? I took a former employer to court over unpaid wages (I am a self employed electrician) and unfortunately lost because I basically couldn't prove the work had taken place. Anyway, I now have a CCJ on my credit file. Is this correct? I didn't realise I would have one if I was the one making the claim. Is this something I can dispute? 

Thanks in advance,
James.

Comments

• MorningcoffeeIV
    MorningcoffeeIV Posts: 1,946 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    edited 16 March 2023 at 11:11AM
    Options
    Find out what the CCJ is for.

Someone made and won a claim against you.
  • penners324
    penners324 Posts: 2,929 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    Did they counter claim?
  • Manchesterlad87
    Options
    It doesn't say on my credit report what it is for but it is the same time as this claim.

They didn't counter claim no. I just paid the court fees.
  • sourcrates
    sourcrates Posts: 29,374 Ambassador
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    Options
    Check with the court, looks as though an error has occurred, a judgement should only appear on your file if someone takes action against you, and you lose.