Incapacity Benefit - Medical Examination?

Options
Good evening all,

This is my first time over here, so please be gentle with me :)

My husband receives incapacity benefit due to being unable to work because of severe depression, anxiety and panic attacks, he has been receiving this for 8 months and has to send the DWP a 'sick note' from his GP every 3 months.

He has today received a letter from Medical Services to say they wish to examine him because the DWP require more medical information. He phoned them (as requested on the letter) and has an appointment for 2nd Jan. Is this anything to be concerned about? We're both rather worried. He is in NO fit state to go back to work (some days he can't even leave the house :() and we would really struggle without this money (I am working and we are in receipt of tax credits).

Many thanks to anyone who can help. Just going for dinner now but will be back very soon.

Scarlett xx
You can't control everything in life....... your hair was put on your head to remind you of that :p

Proud to be BSC no. 103

Comments

• cattie
    cattie Posts: 8,841 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Nothing to worry about at all as it's a normal procedure to be asked to attend a medical. I've had to attend 2 in the past & found the dr's to be very gentle & understanding about my fragile mental health.

Many of the questions your husband will be asked will be what are called computer based, meaning he will be asked a random series of set questions & his answers are scored on a points system, using a computer programme.

As long as he scores enough points he will be considered incapable of work. He may be called to attend further medicals in the future. If he passes the PCA, then he won't have to send in further certificates for a period of time until he is asked to attend another medical.