Buying from aliexpress, Seller from China requesting a tax number or ID number for FedEx

Options
This is the the first time I've used aliexpress, so I'm a complete novice when it comes to importing goods from overseas.

I did all my due diligence before buying, first checking the sellers feedback, 100% satisfied, over 1000 followers and half a dozen reviews of the acutal product I was buying, all positive. I've even been in contact with the seller and they've sent pictures of item I bought, before it's been packed, all good but has it been too positive?

Today I received a message from the seller asking for a tax number or ID number, this is at the request of the courier FedEx. As I understand the situation, from what I've read online, I will be responsible for pay import duty and tax on the item, and this is usually collected by the courier before delivery, the amount due will be calculated from the invoice with the parcel. 

Obviously my worry is, what happens if I can't supply either number? Is this where I discover it's all been smoke and mirrors? 

Has anyone had any experience with this type of purchase or knowledgeable about the inner working of importing electronics from China via aliexpress?

I did cover my purchase by using PayPal to buy the item. 

Thanks for reading, any answer is very much appreciated.

Comments

• Buster_Danog
    Options
    My understanding on duty and tax after brexit was that couriers were contacting the recipients to request payment prior to dedlivery. I would ask the seller if that is an option.
  • GabbaGabbaHey
    GabbaGabbaHey Posts: 1,078 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary
    Options
    My experience with buying through AliExpress is that they normally add on UK VAT at the point of payment, so you shouldn't need to pay anything further on arrival in the UK.
    Philip
  • Spoonie_Turtle
    Spoonie_Turtle Posts: 8,464 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options