Smart Meter Network

Options
I have a smart meter but seemingly no connection to the network so the meter cannot send information to my supplier Octopus Energy. Does anyone know of a solution to the problem e.g., installing a suitable antenna etc. I'd also like to know how I can check WAN connectivity. There does not seem to be much on the web about this apart from 'tough luck!'
«1

Comments

  • QrizB
    QrizB Posts: 13,822 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Photogenic Name Dropper
    Options
    Welcome to the forum.
    What make & model is your smart meter? Do you know whether it's SMETS1 or SMETS2?
    N. Hampshire, he/him. Octopus Go elec & Tracker gas / Shell BB / Lyca mobi. Ripple Kirk Hill member.
    2.72kWp PV facing SSW installed Jan 2012. 11 x 247w panels, 3.6kw inverter. 30MWh generated, long-term average 2.6 Os.
    Taking a break, hope to be back eventually.
    Ofgem cap table, Ofgem cap explainer. Economy 7 cap explainer. Gas vs E7 vs peak elec heating costs.
  • Robin9
    Robin9 Posts: 12,135 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Name Dropper
    Options
    How can you tell ?    Is there a code within the serial number ?


    I shouldn't think any SMETS1 are labelled as such.  But I don't think all SMETS2 are labelled either (my 12 month old Aclara isn't)
    Never pay on an estimated bill
  • QrizB
    QrizB Posts: 13,822 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Photogenic Name Dropper
    Options
    Robin9 said:
    How can you tell ?    Is there a code within the serial number ?
    The model number of the meter or the comms hub usually lets you know.
    If the OP has already done the work it means we don't have to :smile:

    N. Hampshire, he/him. Octopus Go elec & Tracker gas / Shell BB / Lyca mobi. Ripple Kirk Hill member.
    2.72kWp PV facing SSW installed Jan 2012. 11 x 247w panels, 3.6kw inverter. 30MWh generated, long-term average 2.6 Os.
    Taking a break, hope to be back eventually.
    Ofgem cap table, Ofgem cap explainer. Economy 7 cap explainer. Gas vs E7 vs peak elec heating costs.
  • Irnblu
    Options
    Its definitely a SMETS 2 I live in Scotland where I think the network is a radio signal of some sort. Everyone seems to assume you will get a signal with SMETS 2 but I'm afraid that is not the case. I really would like to know if the signal is present and/or could be boosted in any way. Octopus singularly unhelpful in this regard.
  • Robin9
    Robin9 Posts: 12,135 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Name Dropper
    Options
    My Aclara is a SGM 1412-8       What in that says Smets 2 ?     I have the usual communications lights
    Never pay on an estimated bill
  • [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 0 Newbie
    First Post Name Dropper First Anniversary
    edited 18 November 2022 at 4:43PM
    Options
    Robin9 said:
    My Aclara is a SGM 1412-8       What in that says Smets 2 ?     I have the usual communications lights
    The '4'.

    Aclara SMETS1 meters were 13XX, SMETS2 are 14XX

    The next 1 tells you single-phase and the 2 means with a contactor for off-peak.
  • Robin9
    Robin9 Posts: 12,135 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Name Dropper
    Options
    Thank you for that info -  very logical isn't it.
    Never pay on an estimated bill
  • [Deleted User]
    Options
    Robin9 said:
    Thank you for that info -  very logical isn't it.
    They're actually amongst the most logical manufacturers for model numbers.
  • QrizB
    QrizB Posts: 13,822 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Photogenic Name Dropper
    Options
    Irnblu said:
    Its definitely a SMETS 2 I live in Scotland where I think the network is a radio signal of some sort. Everyone seems to assume you will get a signal with SMETS 2 but I'm afraid that is not the case. I really would like to know if the signal is present and/or could be boosted in any way. Octopus singularly unhelpful in this regard.
    Did it ever have signal? Whoever installed it should have ensured you had signal so they could commission the meter.
    Arqiva claimed in 2019 their network reached 99.3% of the population but that leaves 0.7% without coverage - potentially including you.
    According to https://www.smartme.co.uk/smets-2.html the Arqiva WAN operates at 423MHz, which is pretty close to the 70cm HAM band; an external antenna would be trivial to fit but I don't think the comms hubs have a suitable socket (happy to be corrected if someone knows otherwise).

    N. Hampshire, he/him. Octopus Go elec & Tracker gas / Shell BB / Lyca mobi. Ripple Kirk Hill member.
    2.72kWp PV facing SSW installed Jan 2012. 11 x 247w panels, 3.6kw inverter. 30MWh generated, long-term average 2.6 Os.
    Taking a break, hope to be back eventually.
    Ofgem cap table, Ofgem cap explainer. Economy 7 cap explainer. Gas vs E7 vs peak elec heating costs.
  • [Deleted User]
    Options
    Its definitely a SMETS 2 I live in Scotland

    In the Northern region - which includes Scotland - the DCC uses Arqiva as its communications provider. Comms are provided using long-range UHF radios. In my experience - as someone who has used UHF radios for over 35 years - UHF is anything but long range. 

    This blog post explains more:

    ‘If you have SMETS2, then your location means you’re on the Long-Range Radio based Arqiva WAN. All smart meters do ultimately connect to DCC, but there’s two ways of doing so. If you were in the Southern Territory, it would have been the Cellular based Telefonica WAN instead, but that option wouldn’t have worked as well in rural parts of Scotland, whereas Long Range Radio has a far better chance.

    While the tech and concept sounds great on paper, in reality the Arqiva WAN has been plagued with issues and you are not alone here. Unfortunately however, fixing those issues is beyond OVO’s control as only Arqiva can install more infrastructure and repair their existing masts. It is only after this is done, that OVO/SSE would be able to truly fix your smart meter issues. Even if you switch supplier, I’m afraid this same issue will still affect you.’

    There is nothing that you can do to improve connectivity with the Network. If you download the App BRIGHT, and the App populates after sign up, then your meters are connected to the DCC Network. Hildebrand, the owner of BRIGHT uses its own Adapter software to connect to the network and pull data from meters.

Meet your Ambassadors

Categories

  • All Categories
  • 343.7K Banking & Borrowing
  • 250.3K Reduce Debt & Boost Income
  • 450K Spending & Discounts
  • 235.9K Work, Benefits & Business
  • 608.9K Mortgages, Homes & Bills
  • 173.3K Life & Family
  • 248.5K Travel & Transport
  • 1.5M Hobbies & Leisure
  • 15.9K Discuss & Feedback
  • 15.1K Coronavirus Support Boards