NOW OPEN. The MSE Forum's energy-themed Ask An Expert event is open for questions. Visit the dedicated board to ask MSE Gary & MSE Andrew about gas & electricity

PhD students looking for credit cards baffle banks

in Credit cards
19 replies 567 views
Jacob271995Jacob271995 Forumite
2 Posts
First Post
For quite a while now I have been on the hunt for a credit card simply for the purposes of improving my credit score and extra security. I am a PhD student at the University of Manchester and I have been unsure how this might affect my eligibility for a credit card. Well, after a very interesing interaction with Santander today I have been told that it would be best to wait until I have finished my PhD before further pursuing a credit card. I specifically went for an appointment with my local branch to apply for a credit card. The person who held the appointment said I meet all of the criteria (which all online eligbility questionaires aslo agree with), however the application was quickly declined. Following an appeal I finally got a defnitive answer explaining their reasoning. Basically, the non-taxable stipend that PhD students are paid completley baffles banks and places PhD students firmly in a gray area. For instance, I got told that in the eyes of Santander I am unemployed due to this. This is not a fault on the bank or any staff but it is an unfortunate situation. I think more communication between academic/government institutions (e.g. I am funded by the BBSRC) and banks is needed to illuminate this gray area and allow banks to make more informed decisions on providing PhD students with credit cards. 

If you are a PhD student please let me know if you have had any luck in getting a credit card anywhere else? 

I going to give getting a credit card a rest until the end of my PhD but any other advice regarding this situation is welcome. 

All the best, 
Jacob

Replies

• BrieBrie Forumite
    3.7K Posts