Should I use credit card or 1% cash back debit card?

Options
Hi! 

Just wondered if anyone had any advice.
I am a student, but previously I wa working so was able to get a British Airways AMEX credit card, and been using this for over a year for everyday purchases ensuring it gets paid off of course, in order to build my credit score.

However, the other day I signed up for the new Chase account because of the relatively good interest rate, and saw that I get 1% cash back on spending on this for a year. This reward is better than I get with the credit card.

Would it be a mistake to use the chase card for a year for the cash back instead of my AMEX credit card? Because I am worried I will miss out on the benefit to my credit sore of using the credit card responsibly?

Thanks very much!
James S

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 35,242 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    edited 21 April 2022 at 4:50PM
    Options
    You don't have a credit score, just credit history.

Just use your credit card from time to time to keep it active. Use it especially where s75 may be useful.
  • MalMonroe
    MalMonroe Posts: 5,783 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    Options
    I agree with zx81. It doesn't have to be one or the other. You can use both. As long as you do remember to pay off the credit card in full every month. (Gosh, Martin has programmed me well!)

Your credit sore or score is of no consequence since nobody except you ever sees that.