New to debt, please help

Options
System
System Posts: 178,095 Community Admin
Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
This discussion was created from comments split from: DMP mutual support thread part 13 !!.

Comments

• kevoxshockwave
    Options
    Hi all! I am new to this but i think I will be around here for a good few years... 

So I've finally removed my head from the sand about my debts... I am £35,000 in debt across 2 loans, 4 Credit Cards and 2 overdrafts. 

I have missed a few payments the past few months and realise I need to do something more sustainable. I am looking into a DMP. 

I have a couple of questions, if any forumites could help me out i'd be grateful!

1) Is it a good idea to contact my banks to tell them I am in financial difficulty? I mean its obvious coz I have missed payments, but -

2) I read a few pieces of advice saying DON'T enter into an 'arrangement' with the bank, it's better to -

3) Cancel Direct Debits, keep missing payments until they DEFAULT and then THATS the point at which to set up a DMP.

Am I on the right lines?
  • mcpitman
    mcpitman Posts: 1,267 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    Before defaulting, i would suggest posting a "Statement of Affairs" (SOA). 

https://www.lemonfool.co.uk/financecalculators/soa.php

There may be ways to get out before then with careful budgeting.

Defaulting or trying to ay them down, you need to understand what accumulated the debt and if that problem/issue has been resolved. Otherwise you'll end up in a worse place years down the line.
    Life isn't about the number of breaths we take, but the moments that take our breath away. Like choking....
  • enthusiasticsaver
    Options
    Yes you are on the right lines.  It is difficult to be more helpful without seeing an soa (statement of account) but if you are struggling to make minimums and are paying interest and juggling payments then a DMP is one solution.