Employer advertising job position with higher hourly rate than current existing staff

Options
Hello there so I've been working at nursing home for nearly five years, i'm not sure if i should post any details regarding Company who owns the home or not, for now I won't mention it. So I work as a senior(team leader/supervisor) carer on an hourly rate of £9.41 the non seniors are on £8.91 per hour, in November of 2021 the companies website where adverting for care staff (non senior) at my location with the hourly rate of £9.06. 
In October of 2021 a new care staff member signed there employment contract at £8.91 due to the application process and DBS they only did there first shift on the 4th of January 2022, having checked the careers website for the care home the hourly rate for there position is advertised at £9.51. Having spoke to my line manager they are informing us that if a new member of staff comes to the home now, that new staff member would start at £9.51 and all existing care staff would go up to this rate with Senior care staff going possibly to £9.91
So my question was is this common practice because to me it doesn't make any sense, why would you not bring all care staff up to the advertised hourly rate

Comments

• theoretica
    theoretica Posts: 12,366 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary
    Options
    The minimum wage goes up to £9.50 in April so all staff will go up to that by then if not before - makes sense to me to advertise the job at the new rate not the old.
    But a banker, engaged at enormous expense,
    Had the whole of their cash in his care.
    Lewis Carroll
  • Marvel1
    Marvel1 Posts: 7,198 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    Boris82 said:
    Hello there so I've been working at nursing home for nearly five years, i'm not sure if i should post any details regarding Company who owns the home or not, for now I won't mention it.
    No don't do this at all.
  • Boris82