Running out of 0% providers to Stooze!

MickyT22MickyT22 Forumite
2 Posts
First Post
MoneySaving Newbie
I've been stoozing with 0% cards for over 15 years now and have a draw full of dormant cards. I don't usually bother closing accounts and wait for the provider to close it for me when they realise the account hasn't been used for years! Now, I'm running out of providers that I haven't had a card from previously.

Does anyone have any experience of closing accounts, waiting a few months and then re-applying for a new 0% card? Are applications denied?

Replies

• zx81zx81 Forumite
    33.5K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Photogenic Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    You generally need to wait 6 months before being able to get new customer offers, though it varies.
  • SandtreeSandtree Forumite
    7.1K Posts
    1,000 Posts Second Anniversary Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭
    MickyT22 said:
    Does anyone have any experience of closing accounts, waiting a few months and then re-applying for a new 0% card? Are applications denied?
    More often they are approved but you do not receive the new customer benefit of the 0% offer unless you've not been a customer for X months/years. 6 months is generally the minimum but some are longer.
  • BrieBrie Forumite
    1.4K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭
    MBNA have been very good at continuing to provide 0% opportunities for me for the last 20 years.  And (knock on wood) they have never reduced the credit limit. 

I get it down to zero at times and then max it out when I do something silly like need a new car.  Buy the car on one card that has cashback and then shift the debt to MBNA to be able to pay back at my leisure.  I've been stung a few times with interest when there's some awkwardness running more than 1 BT but it's never usually amounted to more than a pound or two.
    "Never retract, never explain, never apologise; get things done and let them howl.”