Simple gardening advice

Options
I have never done any gardening before. I moved house recently. I don't actually have a garden but there is a kind of flower bed along the front of the house.

Here's a picture:

I pulled all the bushes and plants out including the roots. As you can see the neighbours don't care about theirs and it is massively overgrown, so things CAN thrive in it.

What I would like to do is plant some nice bushes in.

Here's the next house along the road:

It looks lovely. I asked them what they planted but they said they would have to find out.

I would like to plant something similar, or the same, I don't mind. But my two questions are... what can I plant that is kind of bushy like that but not prickly and won't hopefully grow to monstrous heights?

And how do I plant it, I have never planted anything before, do I just dig a small hole and chuck it in?

Many thanks for any advice!

Comments

• getmore4less
    getmore4less Posts: 46,882 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post I've helped Parliament
    Options
    The bad one just need cutting back.

Could be a budlia they grow anywhere
    (Good chance you will get them growing in your bit seeded from that one)

The good one looks like laurel that will grow massive if not cut back every year.
     bedding  underneath

If the right aspect a row of tomato might grow well to feed you.

• grumbler
    grumbler Posts: 58,629 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post Photogenic First Anniversary
    Options

The good one looks like laurel that will grow massive if not cut back every year.

Even if cut, it'll produce a thick, tree-like trunk.
    Its cuttings are pretty easy to root.

• NibblyPig
    NibblyPig Posts: 205 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    I would love to grow some tomatoes but since they are right next to the road it's not massively suitable.