Help to buy ISA

Hello

Does anyone have an experience of a problem I am having with a Help to Buy ISA. I have been paying into my ISA for several years and had £5,000 in it. Last week I was subjected to a scam on my Halifax Bank account that resulted in all of my money being stolen by the scammers including the money I had in the ISA. 
To be fair the Halifax have been brilliant and have refunded all of my money but have said they cannot return my money to my ISA therefore I have lost the government bonus that is attached to the Help to Buy scheme. 
As Halifax accept that I did not withdraw the money from my ISA (because they have refunded it to me) I think they must have the ability to recreate my account to what it should be but they say they have tried but failed because only £200 per month can be added. I have mentioned that they have the power to deal with a situation when a property purchase falls through but they haven’t commented

Has anyone had my experience or have any possible solutions?

Thank you

Christine

Replies

• eskbankereskbanker Forumite
    24.6K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    Forumite
    Last week I was subjected to a scam on my Halifax Bank account that resulted in all of my money being stolen by the scammers including the money I had in the ISA. 
    To be fair the Halifax have been brilliant and have refunded all of my money but have said they cannot return my money to my ISA therefore I have lost the government bonus that is attached to the Help to Buy scheme. 
    As Halifax accept that I did not withdraw the money from my ISA (because they have refunded it to me) I think they must have the ability to recreate my account to what it should be but they say they have tried but failed because only £200 per month can be added. I have mentioned that they have the power to deal with a situation when a property purchase falls through but they haven’t commented