Revolut advice please.

Options
I'll try and keep this as concise as I can. Although I have plenty of experience with uk banks, I have no experience with banks like revolut.

My son is at Sheffield uni. He has met a nice girl and they have been together around 18 months now, but want to share a place from September. She is from Romania and has a revolut account, he has student account with Barclays. When I asked about how they were going to share the rent, he told me she would pay and he would transfer his half into her revolut account. I have read of problems with revolut on here and, although I'm trying to be hands off, I don't want him to find his account frozen. Her account was obviously opened in Romania, and I've just got a bad feeling.

Can anyone reassure/warn me of any possible outcomes. Thank you.
I came into this world with nothing and I've got most of it left.

Comments

• pbartlett
    pbartlett Posts: 1,397 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    Cannot advise you on that particular question but would advise you son opens a second account anyway - eg Monzo or Starling - just to have in case anything happens at any time.
  • colsten
    colsten Posts: 17,597 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Revolut is not a bank although they have now applied for a UK banking licence. The main drawback of that is the lack of a deposit protection scheme like FSCS but this doesn't seem to deter people. 

Revolut accounts can be opened in many countries - just because she is from Romania doesn't necessarily mean she opened it in Romania. You can open a Revolut account straight away if you like, from the comfort of your home. Besides, there is nothing wrong with Romanian accounts.

The real issue with Revolut is the almost complete lack of CS. The account is ok if you don't need any help but you are basically on your own if you do.