We've changed the name of this board from 'Greenfingered MoneySaving' to simply 'Gardening'. This is to help make it easier to find for the horticulturally inclined. The URL remains unchanged for the time being, so all links to the board are unaffected.

Houseplant help

Options
13»

Comments

• Mithos
    Mithos Posts: 137 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Sky_ said:
    I'm no expert, but my spider plant gets brown tips on it's leaves when I forget to water it--it's on a high shelf because it has lots of trailing baby plants.  They don't like to sit in water for too long, but they also don't like to be to dry for too long. Mine (when I remember) gets watered when I notice that the soil is dry, gets fed occasionally and it usually grows happily and vigorously. 

It could also be that the sun on your windowsill is too hot for it and is burning the leaves.  

I think this too. They don't love hot air and perhaps sitting in the windowsil now things are warming up outside with more sun etc, it's getting too dry / intense? I do still sometimes get brown tips, but you can just nip them off with a pair of scissors and they look good again. 

This care guide https://www.ourhouseplants.com/plants/spiderplant is fairly close to what I do in general and my Spiderplants grow well and always seem to be producing new spider pups! I've run out of people to give them too so when they eventually get lose from the mother plant I feel guilt as they sort of wilt up and die.

• irisheyes153
    irisheyes153 Posts: 30 Forumite
    First Post Photogenic Combo Breaker First Anniversary
    Options
    Mithos said:
    Sky_ said: