New Post Advanced Search

Houseplant help

25 replies 705 views
I have some "pet" houseplants but I'm a beginner in how to look after them. 

Yes, I am a sad plant parent and I have named my plants :smiley:

Jethro, my spider plant, and Pablo my Flamingo plant live quite happily on the living room windowsill. I read somewhere that they don't like wet soil so I keep their soil just damp (almost dry) as per recommendation and I turn the pots so the whole plant gets sunlight, I have no idea if this will help but at least I can say I tried! 

Recently, I have noticed that the ends of their leaves are turning brown. Even a novice like me knows this is not a good sign. I have no idea why. 

I have a drip feed thingame which gives them plant food, and I have read up about the watering and am following the guidelines on line. 

Any idea what I should be doing? Or what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks in advance!

P.S It's best you don't ask why Pablo and Jethro... Percy the Poinsetta and Tilly the tiny white flowered plant (she was a gift and I have no idea what she is - but she's pretty) wouldn't like it! :lol:

"Always remember, I'm just the other side of the rainbow, or just north of the north star. Whichever is closest." AJM 17/03/75-16/03/97

Replies

• edited 2 May at 1:00AM
    Sky_Sky_ Forumite
    527 posts
    Ninth Anniversary 500 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭
    edited 2 May at 1:00AM
    I'm no expert, but my spider plant gets brown tips on it's leaves when I forget to water it--it's on a high shelf because it has lots of trailing baby plants.  They don't like to sit in water for too long, but they also don't like to be to dry for too long. Mine (when I remember) gets watered when I notice that the soil is dry, gets fed occasionally and it usually grows happily and vigorously. 

It could also be that the sun on your windowsill is too hot for it and is burning the leaves.  
    1% MF challenge. £0/1625
  • irisheyes153irisheyes153 Forumite
    30 posts