Switching from cash ISAs to S&S

Options
Hi, I currently have just under 160K in a number of separate cash ISAs. As part of a wider financial review, I’ve belatedly realised that this is crazy so now plan to switch just over two thirds of this amount from 3 separate ISAs (value of each:- 85k, 20k and 7k into one S&S ISA. 
I have no experience of this kind of investing and don’t foresee having the confidence, knowledge or time to manage things myself. However, from reading on this site I am considering using one of the three ’do it for me’ platforms eg Evestor, to make the switch. I am pretty risk averse so would instruct them to proceed in this way. I hope to be able to invest this amount for 8-10 years. 

-Can I lump together the three ISAs as described above to form one new S&S ISA?  
-Any opinions on experience of using any of these platforms?
-Given my circumstances does this plan make general sense or am I missing anything obvious!

I want to stay low risk as I view my ISA savings as a pot to subsidise a hopeful reduction in working hours as I get in to my mid-late 50s (I’m 49 now), and therefore to avoid accessing my local govt pension scheme too early.  However, with cash ISA rates pitifully low I don’t want to see my hard earned pot be eroded by inflation. 

Thanks in advance for any opinions/ advice. 

Comments

• masonic
    masonic Posts: 23,382 Forumite
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    edited 5 April 2021 at 10:28AM
    Options
    Yes you can transfer several cash ISAs into your S&S ISA. Is there any particular reason you want to go for a relatively expensive provider like Evestor rather than using a cheap platform and buying a single multi-asset fund?
    Some example costings:
    £112,000 at Evestor would cost £549 per year in platform+fund fees
    £112,000 at Vanguard in a Vanguard Lifestrategy fund (VLS) would cost £414
    £112,000 at iWeb in VLS would cost £246 (+£100 opening fee in year 1)