British Gas not honouring promise to match or beat RHE's deal

Options
13»

Comments

• Grizzlebeard
    Options
    I am not a Lawyer, and my opinions are based solely on my common sense, personal sense of justice and Googling terms and words on the periphery of my experience. Verify with qualified sources before acting on anything I say.
    Here goes! My thoughts -
    The Small Claims Court may well find in favor of the plaintiff, but that judgement can't be automatically applied for any one else - even if they're in exactly the same position. Each case would need it's own hearing and judgement. This is a big part of the reason Corporations make generous settlements out of court, and usually with a gagging clause to stop the word spreading. From my experience of the British Gas corporate mentality this is the sort of thing they'd do. Who knows they've likely done it already with some 'irksome' customers. My desire to sort out BG is for every badly treated customer to get fair redress, since as I say, my personal exposure is only a few quid. The ideal outcome would be a ruling from a Regulator with the legal teeth to enforce it systematically, but I really don't know if there are enough injured parties for Ofgem to spend time pursuing it as a class action matter.

• Gimel
    Gimel Posts: 6 Forumite
    First Post
    Options
    Thank you all for your comments, much appreciated.

BG themselves at one point suggested we take the issue to the Ombudsman, but I was wary figuring that prospect didn't scare them and were using that to get us off their backs. Now, reading their response here to the Ombudsman's ruling, it confirms for me where they're at.

I'll ponder the info and views in this thread before weighing up what to do.
  • MoneySavingNovice
    MoneySavingNovice Posts: 435 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Post First Anniversary
    edited 26 March 2021 at 3:15PM
    Options
    Gimel said:
    Thank you all for your comments, much appreciated.