BW Legal have sent me a letter

Options
Orangeclouds
Orangeclouds Posts: 1 Newbie
First Anniversary
edited 25 January 2022 at 8:11PM in Credit file & ratings
Hi people,
I'm a newbie here so apologies if I'm posting to the wrong place. Basically I'm trying to improve my credit score and wondering why it won't seem to budge from 'very poor' despite making sure I'm doing all the things suggested to increase your score over this past year. .. then hang on a minute!  what's this letter I've just opened - a company called BW Legal are claiming I owe then £188 for a talktalk debt. ..Ok I get it!  Bingo! is this the reason my credit score refuses to budge? But on googling BW Legal I come up with an astounding amount of VERY bad reviews. Basically I now don't trust this company and so I'm very reluctant to pay the £188. 
What do I do peeps?? Any advice would be much appreciated.
Hailey

Comments

• 2021BJ
    2021BJ Posts: 307 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper
    edited 26 February 2021 at 1:53PM
    Options
    Ignore your score.  The data on your file is what is important.

Does this debt appear on your credit files at all? If it doesn't, it's not whats causing your issues.

As far as their reviews go, well, they're a debt collector. Do you really expect them to get glowing reviews?  Do you actually owe TalkTalk £188 or not?
  • PRAISETHESUN
    Options
    Check your credit file from all 3 CRAs - Experian, Equifax and TransUnion. There's probably a default on there somewhere which is why the debt collectors are going after you. Do you actually agree that you owe the money though? If so, contact them and arrange to pay it off ASAP. If not, and you think it is fraudulent then complain to them. Send them a "prove it" letter and challenge the debt, and push for it to me removed from your files.
  • [Deleted User]
    Options
    Your credit history will be impacted by missed payments/defaults and perhaps even a CCJ from this debt