BW Legal have sent me a letter

OrangecloudsOrangeclouds Forumite
1 Post
Second Anniversary
MoneySaving Newbie
Hi people,
I'm a newbie here so apologies if I'm posting to the wrong place. Basically I'm trying to improve my credit score and wondering why it won't seem to budge from 'very poor' despite making sure I'm doing all the things suggested to increase your score over this past year. .. then hang on a minute!  what's this letter I've just opened - a company called BW Legal are claiming I owe then £188 for a talktalk debt. ..Ok I get it!  Bingo! is this the reason my credit score refuses to budge? But on googling BW Legal I come up with an astounding amount of VERY bad reviews. Basically I now don't trust this company and so I'm very reluctant to pay the £188. 
What do I do peeps?? Any advice would be much appreciated.
Hailey

Replies

• edited 26 February at 1:53PM
    2021BJ2021BJ Forumite
    307 Posts
    100 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭
    edited 26 February at 1:53PM
    Ignore your score.  The data on your file is what is important.

Does this debt appear on your credit files at all? If it doesn't, it's not whats causing your issues.

As far as their reviews go, well, they're a debt collector. Do you really expect them to get glowing reviews?  Do you actually owe TalkTalk £188 or not?
  • PRAISETHESUNPRAISETHESUN Forumite
    2.4K Posts
    1,000 Posts Second Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭
    Check your credit file from all 3 CRAs - Experian, Equifax and TransUnion. There's probably a default on there somewhere which is why the debt collectors are going after you. Do you actually agree that you owe the money though? If so, contact them and arrange to pay it off ASAP. If not, and you think it is fraudulent then complain to them. Send them a "prove it" letter and challenge the debt, and push for it to me removed from your files.
  • FarfetchFarfetch Forumite
    2K Posts
    1,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭