Do I need to declare on car insurance???

in Motoring
17 replies 582 views
PkmanPkman Forumite
31 Posts
10 Posts
2 years ago, My car was hit in my work private car park by the company car. It needed a spray paint job in the back bumper.
Went through insurance, as it was not my fault, it was taken care of. My NCB is protected, No up front excess, no paperwork, no nothing, it was like it didn't happened lol
Last year I renew with the same insurance. This year unless the quote is 50% cheaper, I'm going with 'by miles' due to work from home. 

Now do I need to declare this on my car insurance quote. If so, what do I choose? Etc as I have no clue as I am a good driver :)

Replies

• ontheroad1970ontheroad1970 Forumite
    854 Posts
    500 Posts First Anniversary Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭
    You should answer any questions they ask truthfully.  You do not have to give detail they do not ask for (but do check their assumptions which are usually hidden away somewhere, and equally binding).  Do make sure you tell them about things which they could find out about by searching a claims database.  You don't want to be at fault for an accident involving serious injuries or worse if they find out about a previous claim during the claims process.
  • A_LertA_Lert Forumite
    578 Posts
    500 Posts First Anniversary Name Dropper
    ✭✭
    Yes.
    Your car was hit while parked. The driver responsible was known. You were not at fault. Nobody was injured. The cost of the damage was £whatever and the third party's insurance paid.
    Those are the basic facts. Fit them into the most appropriate description. Sometimes "hit while parked" is explicitly listed as an option. If not, treat it as most fitting.
  • AdrianCAdrianC Forumite
    42.2K Posts
    Eighth Anniversary 10,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Pkman said:
    2 years ago, My car was hit ... Went through insurance

Now do I need to declare this on my car insurance quote.
    What is the question they ask?