Mortgage Free: The final countdown

Comments

• mark55man
    mark55man Posts: 7,922 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    edited 6 February 2022 at 2:38PM
    I feel an analogy is in order.  I'm like a racing car at the end of a race, my fuel load (costs) is light which means I can accelerate and move quicker - and as a driver I am focussed and not distracted, but also hoping and praying that a wheel doesn't come off :smiley: -

my only debate is I may cross the finish line with my MN pot, but I need to win other races (retirement costs) and unlike champion drivers I haven't already stashed away millions of pounds. That said, at the end of my career I am earning as much as I ever will, and family 55man won't really come close in earning power, so am thinking about taking one more year for the team

bit fanciful but there you go!!
    I think I saw you in an ice cream parlour
    Drinking milk shakes, cold and long
    Smiling and waving and looking so fine
  • savingholmes
    savingholmes Posts: 27,305 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary Photogenic First Post
    No apology needed. It is a year of unprecedented price increases rather like the 70s. Knowing you could go and choosing to stay will hopefully help keep you going
    Achieve FIRE/Mortgage Neutrality by mid 2030
    1) MFW Nov 21 £201,999 with 237 payments to go - now £184,341 Equity 26.26%
    2) Spend on handyman & external building works & new patio door £11.9K
    3) CC £3.7K on 0% spends card but offset by £34K savings (part EF, part future home improvement)
    4) Mortgage neutral by June 2030 AVC £9.6K/£127.5K AVC target 7.5% value @15/4
    5) FI Age 60 annual income target £13.7/30K 45.7%
  • Really interesting reading Mark, thought provoking.  
  • mark55man
    edited 13 February 2022 at 9:27PM