Building investment portfolios

Hi there 
i am a newbie to investing and looking to invest 100k , 10 year plus horizon, Still 20 years off from retirement and have some cash kept aside for emergencies so want to fully invest this amount 
my questions are
1. how many funds should you hold within an investment portfolio based on the above amount ?
2. Looked at vanguard life strategy fund (60 eq, 40% bond) but what other additional  funds would you recommend holding?
Thanks 

Replies

• edited 30 December 2020 at 12:09PM
    AlexlandAlexland Forumite
    8.6K Posts
    1,000 Posts Fourth Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭
    edited 30 December 2020 at 12:09PM
    poli123 said:
    1. how many funds should you hold within an investment portfolio based on the above amount ?
    As few as possible to keep costs low and achieve your desired asset allocation. I would do one multi asset fund or maybe a 2 fund portfolio using a well diversified equities and bond fund.
    poli123 said:
    2. Looked at vanguard life strategy fund (60 eq, 40% bond) but what other additional  funds would you recommend holding?
    Thanks 
    60% equities might be good for 10 years but is a bit low for a 20 year timeline (which is it?) and might only just keep pace with inflation after fees. For real long term growth an 80% equities allocation may be more appropriate. As you get closer to retirement you might move to reduce to 60% to reduce return sequence risks while drawing income.
    Also importantly are you being efficient in your use of tax wrappers - Pensions, S&S Lifetime ISAs, S&S ISAs, etc?

• dunstonhdunstonh Forumite
    106.7K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭✭✭✭