IMPORTANT: Please make sure your posts do not contain any personally identifiable information (both your own and that of others). When uploading images, please take care that you have redacted all personal information including QR codes, number plates and reference numbers.

bwlegal - Limitation Act 1980 Query

Options
Hello All,
Thank you for all the assistance provided on the Newbie FAQ's, it has been extremely helpful!
My partner received a Letter of Claim today from bwlegal. She had previously been using the militant approach to ignore and hope everything goes away, however in this instance I decided to take a look, as the letter appeared more than just the usual threats and it is indeed one that finally requires a response.
I was just about to about to press ahead with an SOR to Premier Parking Solutions when I noticed the dates involved. The Date of Contravention was the 22nd of November 2014, with the letter being sent dated the 11th of December 2020. I'm no expert, however to me that appears to contravene the Limitation Act 1980, in particular the following from section 5:
 Time limit for actions founded on simple contract.

An action founded on simple contract shall not be brought after the expiration of six years from the date on which the cause of action accrued.

Am I right in thinking that I am best to reply to BW, informing them that the alleged 'debt' is over six years old and therefore barred?

I apologise in advance if I missed this in the FAQ's, any help provided would be very much appreciated. Happy to provide more detail if required.

Thanks

Comments

• Coupon-mad
    Coupon-mad Posts: 131,669 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post Photogenic First Anniversary
    edited 16 December 2020 at 7:34PM
    Options
    Am I right in thinking that I am best to reply to BW, informing them that the alleged 'debt' is over six years old and therefore barred?