Wow wee oh my - trying to hack away at my £54k debt (was even about to book a holiday)

Comments

• Thanks both.
    I have been overspending for the last 20 years and have always been in debt since i was 18. 
    Do you give much time to why the problem started or just accept it?
    In a weird way i think this journey will end with me appreciating the thing i do more and knowing how an enjoyable in budget holiday feels for the first time :)

"Do you give much time to why the problem started or just accept it?"

Luckily we've never had that problem but sister/brother in law have a very large (twice what i earn) salary plus other income and haven't got a pot to ---- in. Mortgaged up to the hilt, credit cards maxed out and bills mounting up but next thing you know they've booked a house in Cornwall for 2k a week for xmas with no covid cancellation. They get paid end of month and it goes through their hands like water but no surprise as they been the same for 30 years, they've had windfalls and its like watching a fat kid in the sweet shop desperate to spend it as quick as possible

• I have been overspending for the last 20 years and have always been in debt since i was 18. 
    In a weird way i think this journey will end with me appreciating the thing i do more and knowing how an enjoyable in budget holiday feels for the first time :)